Making the Future Female

When did YOU stop believing in God?


I was 8 and a half. I wanted a bike and my mum said “No”.

I was in the back bedroom at home and thinking how to get a bike and the idea came to me – why not pray for one?

I considered this and realized that if folk could get things by praying, then everyone would have exactly what they wanted. But it was obvious that wasn’t the case. Therefore, I concluded, there could be no God.

God was just like Father Christmas – something made up by adults.

It was a powerful experience.

Soon after I was at school and a short, balding, fierce, Scottish Presbyterian teacher took over from my normal teacher who was ill. His name was Mr Kerr. His idea for the lesson was to ask kids for types of books and he would locate them in the Bible – his point being that everything was in the holy book. As might be expected from 9-year-olds, the calls from the class tended to be along predictable lines. So sports, history, adventure and suspense were all offered and the teacher fielded each one easily.

Eventually he asked me. “Science Fiction?” I suggested. The cleverer kids in the class laughed out loud, seeing the joke. The teacher scowled at me, tried to think of an answer, then quickly finished the lesson.

1-0 to the atheists!

Now I have my sights on the outrageous claims of miracle cures for cancer and the like made by the local Renewal Christian Centre. The pastor is the ultimate in slippery salesmen. He was a life assurance executive and then a soccer agent. It’s hard to think of a less spiritual background.

He’s now a governor of a local high school and former TV evangelist. I’ve written to the local paper (although they haven’t printed it yet – more details to follow if I find they’re in league with the self-styled church) explaining what his organisation is doing and blogged about his congregation repeating this nonsense to all and sundry.

I had a run-in with one of his acolytes yesterday at the local gym. Sadly these poor people don’t know their elbows from their arses – which no doubt suits the pastor down to the ground.

We have to fight against this evil because they will try to stop kids learning about science, history and social sciences because a little knowledge destroys their fairy stories. I’m also very concerned about the gender relations these idiots espouse and the awful hatred their “God of Love” engenders.

By the way, does anyone know if Christians mentioned “love” before the 1960’s? I think it’s a new thing. I don’t remember the Inquisition talking about love, although I know The Beatles did.

So readers, when did YOU stop believing in the lie of God?

16 responses

  1. I believe I was about 16 when I could first label myself an atheist. Raised by a Mormon mother and a Jehovah’s Witness father, my brother and I had somewhat of a rough go in our adolescence. At the age of 11 however, my dad quit attending the meetings. My brother and I followed suit and quit going to church all together.

    The next few years of my life consisted of me becoming more and more aware of my anger towards God, but I had never actually considered the idea of there being no God. Then one night, I recall my brother telling me that he might be an atheist. I had no idea what an atheist was at the time. I started looking into the idea of there being no God right around the time I was first learning about evolution in my biology class. I became so fascinated with science that it was only a matter of time before I could say with absolute certainty that I no longer believe in the lie that there is a God. With that, my life has continued to be more fulfilling and enjoyable than I could’ve ever been if I remained tied down to the belief in God.

    August 12, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    • Thanks for a lovely response. You did very well to get out! My parents sang in the choir at the Baptist church where they were married. There was a special Sunday school for the white children of the choir, which met on the afternoon as the evening service was for black folk 🙂

      August 12, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      • Haha… I stand in awe how the followers there can continue to attend with the awareness of the horrible history of bigotry. To the acts of man, they would have an arguement. But they are in what they believe to be the “House of God”. For “God” to allow that for even a moment… He has no excuse.

        August 12, 2012 at 9:11 pm

      • Great minds think alike my friend 🙂

        August 12, 2012 at 9:12 pm

      • Indeed 🙂

        August 12, 2012 at 9:13 pm

      • Some good came of the Baptist church however. After a couple of years I was allowed to stay home while the rest of family went. This coincided with me meeting my first girlfriend, so an empty house was brilliant…

        August 12, 2012 at 9:15 pm

      • Hahaha… God works in mysterious ways 😉 Haha…

        August 12, 2012 at 9:21 pm

      • Ha ha. Well at that age, sex was pretty mysterious…

        August 12, 2012 at 9:28 pm

  2. toni

    I never did. You don’t have 30,000 kids dying a day, wars, greed, violence and the abuse of women and children if there was supposed to be a so-called god who loves everybody – ‘he’ would have solved the issues centuries ago. Nope, this is mainly male humans in hierarchies damaging and killing the species and the planet…

    August 12, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    • What a fantastic reply! This is exactly what my book is about. Here’s a link http://www.facebook.com/DOGSharonTheFutureIsFemale

      August 12, 2012 at 9:02 pm

  3. I was a womb atheist myself. I prayed to be born at noon, but I was born at 10am- that ended the fantasy for me 😀

    August 12, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    • 🙂 Brilliant mate

      I can remember being born…

      …wasn’t very nice

      August 12, 2012 at 9:46 pm

      • I was forcepsed out against my will. So now I’m taking my revenge on the world for not respecting the DO NOT DISTURB sign I posted outside the vagina in question.

        August 12, 2012 at 9:50 pm

      • Sorry to hear that matey, but were glad you came out. Wit like yours isn’t found every day.

        August 13, 2012 at 11:01 am

  4. I can’t say I ever believed, to have a non-believing moment. I attended sunday-school, and occasionally church, but it was like being at a play, interesting dialog, but it’s still just entertainment. The nail in the coffin came when some beach missionaries returned for their fourth summer. I’d hung out with them since I was 8 or 9, and thought we were “friends”. I met them just as they arrived, and was welcomed with open arms and smiling faces. I was told that they were SO happy that I’d been baptised since they were here last. I told them that it must have been the other kid in our small town with the same name….and the wall came down. Suddenly they weren’t happy to see me, and maybe I should think seriously about that “getting baptised” thing. At about 11, I thought seriously about how I’d just been treated, because I’d been “othered”, and never went back.

    August 13, 2012 at 4:33 am

  5. That’s awful mate. Thanks for sharing.
    When I was 8 I sat a scripture exam at church and scored 98% (I was a bright kid :)) When it came to prize giving I got a pat on the head and a book token (Mum’s still got the book) However the minister’s kid who was a couple of years older than me scored 99% and the whole church celebrated for weeks.
    A Christian just challenged me saying it’s not fair to highlight actual Christian behaviour as this stereotypes all Christians. But if these self-styled religious types act worse than their godless brethren it surely shows the weakness of their claims.
    Thanks again – great to have met you.
    Dave

    August 13, 2012 at 10:47 am

Leave a Reply

