Making the Future Female

HANDS UP WHO VOTED FOR GLOBALIZATION?


Although transatlantic steamships and intercontinental wireless and telephone services existed in the early 20th century, most commentators assign the start of the recent phase of globalization to sometime in the 1970s. It was in 1973 that the United States under Richard Nixon broke with the Bretton Woods agreement on monetary exchange and the regulation of international trade.

Nixon also made an historic visit to China which led to increased trade between the two nations.

These political changes combined with developments in computing and the harnessing of digital communications led to the emergence of new international finance, monetary and derivative markets and the stimulation of traditional stock exchanges.

The United Kingdom’s Margaret Thatcher and the United States’ Ronald Reagan were instrumental in realizing Chicago School  economic policies of free trade, privatisation and deregulation.

The European Economic Community, the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade and the North American Free Trade Area were all modified during this period along with other international treaties.

In addition, the International Monetary Fund , the World Bank and the World Trade Organisation were all mobilised to further neo-liberal and neo-conservative policies.

As a consequence of the above, multinational corporations , freed from the control of state governments, grew in power and increasingly internationalized their operations from the 1980s.

The period also saw the emergence of a single global market for money and credit involving considerable transformations of the size and structure of investment by financial institutions governments and corporations.

These changes have led to a territorial reorganization of economic activity and new concentrations of political and economic power.

Due to globalization, capital, goods and services can be moved across borders more easily, something supporters of economic liberalism claim is a positive development. However, this also facilitates money laundering and the provision of illicit goods and services by transnational organized criminals.

When will there be a harvest for the world?

So, hands up who voted for this?

44 responses

  1. Aisha

    Great post Lowerarchy! Ordinary people of the world want to Leggo of these crazy psychopaths called elites – we just stop voting for them as a critical mass of people – and stop giving birth… 🙂 that will fuck up their business models…

    August 26, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    • Yes without a steady stream of babies the system will collapse. They need our kids for their wars, factories, offices and brothels.
      Thanks for connecting x

      August 26, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      • Aisha

        Yep, problem we got is trying to get women across the globe to do this – when all the family planning funds are usually in the hands of males and religious nutters…take them out and our species has a chance of surviving – and the planet…

        August 26, 2012 at 8:52 pm

      • Absolutely – see my post http://dogsharon.com/2012/08/22/how-culture-and-religion-oppress-women/

        August 26, 2012 at 8:57 pm

  2. I hope I didn’t vote for globalisation but I suspect I did vote for someone who thought it would be a good idea. Hands up who thinks it was a good idea?

    August 27, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    • 🙂 nice one
      I can’t see any hands yet…

      August 27, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      • lol – I think that says it all don’t you?

        August 27, 2012 at 11:31 pm

      • 🙂 Trouble is, the majority of folk are fooled into believing it’s noting to do with them so don’t comment or take an interest – the challenge for us is to help enough people awake from the consumerist trance and live life consciously. Glad we’re on the same side 🙂

        August 28, 2012 at 6:00 am

      • It’s a bit different here in Australia. We all /have/ to vote so even those who aren’t particularly interested in politics have to make some choices. How informed those choices are is a moot point but at least there is some awareness of the issues.

        I’d like to think that we can make a difference but on my bad days I think that we’re all just preaching to the converted. The people we talk to are already awake while those who aren’t awake are not likely to be interested in our blogs.

        Luckily I’m an optimist 95% of the time. 😀

        August 28, 2012 at 1:34 pm

      • I think we have to be optimistic or else we’d go mad.
        What happens if you don’t vote? Can you spoil the ballot paper if you don’t fancy any candidate?

        August 28, 2012 at 1:37 pm

      • If you don’t vote you get fined. It’s only a small fine – about $50 I think – but we’re so conditioned to /having/ to vote that very few people deliberately choose not to.

        Messing up the ballot paper is called casting a ‘donkey’ vote and sometimes you get a lot of them when people use the vote to send a message to all the political parties.

        August 28, 2012 at 10:34 pm

      • Thanks for explaining this. I’m slightly dazed at the mo – just got up and painkillers are still strong in my system and fingers awkward 🙂
        So is this the case for both local and national elections? Turnout is quite important here as parties do well or otherwise depending on who actually votes on the day. Have there been elections where there are lots of spoiled votes; a “none of the above” situation?
        How do you feel about campaigns against voting all together?

        August 29, 2012 at 6:57 am

      • Yes, local government, state and federal elections are all the same. You have to vote and that’s that. If you don’t agree with either of the two major parties [we have the equivalent of your democrats and republican here as well] there are always small parties you can vote for in protest or even independents who have no party affiliations whatsoever.

        Must admit I find the thought of people /not/ wanting to vote kind of strange. Even if they’re not interested in politics wouldn’t self interest make them want to vote for a candidate who at least promises to make their lives better/easier?

        I’m not sure what you mean by ‘campaigns against voting’. I personally loathe representational democracy and would like to see a form of electronic voting whereby people can vote directly on issues that concern them but… I think I’ll be pushing up daisies before that will happen. If it ever does.

        Hope you’re feeling better. 🙂

        August 29, 2012 at 1:14 pm

      • Yes am feeling fully alive again thanks mate.Thanks for the explanation of the Aussie system.
        Actually I’m from the English Midlands not USA – although we’ve both got a Birmingham! I’m a Pom…
        Lots of folk on both sides of the Atlantic are arguing not to vote as the media and powerful interest groups have got the mainstream political system sown up. In the US the Supreme Court ruled corporations and multinationals had the same freedom of speech as individuals so could donate any amount of funds. This means the political process is dependent on huge sums of money and completely corrupt.
        In the UK there are the 2 main parties – Conservatives (Tory Party) and Labour (sorry New Labour – cut off of its roots in the radical tradition) and The Liberal Democrats whose job it is to split the anti-Tory vote. Whichever party we vote for we know they won’t work for the people but their friends in big business.
        If enough people don’t vote it will show up the problems with so-called democracy.
        Many folk argue the electronic ballots can be hacked and point to the US where there’ve been dodgy decisions.
        Those are the arguments anyway. 🙂

        August 29, 2012 at 1:42 pm

      • lmao – I was wondering about your use of ‘mate’. So you’re a Pom 😀 Pleased to meet you.

        Our political system is based on yours so we’ve inherited both the good and the bad. At the moment aussie voters feel the same way about the major political parties which is why we have a lot of independents, amongst other things.

        I don’t know what the answer is but my gut reaction is that even if we all cast a donkey vote it wouldn’t accomplish anything because the underlying system would still be the same.

        The idea of voting on issues rather than to elect representatives harks back to the old Greek model of democracy but of course that was dodgy as well – slaves and women were not allowed to vote.

        Here’s an idea to chew on. Would the political system be better or worse if we chose politicians at random – much like citizens are chosen for jury duty. We’d get a lot of fools and probably some crims but the common denominator amongst all of them would be that none of them would /want/ to be there.

        I imagine there’d be a mess and possibly anarchy in the Houses of Parliament but maybe when they did make a decision it would be a better decision than what we get at the moment. Or maybe not. -shrug-

        August 29, 2012 at 10:39 pm

      • That’s a most interesting idea which I’ll think about when my brain kicks in 🙂
        Thanks again for explaining all this. I like the idea of voting electronically on issues apart from the fact that unless folk are educated on those issues and the background they are easy meat for the media driven by big business.
        As for ‘mate’ as a way of talking, I’m wary of using titles if I don’t know the person’s sex or disposition. ‘Mate’ is short, snappy and gender unspecific while being friendly and hopefully creating a feeling of togetherness. I use it with men and women from all over the globe. Of course, we Brits associate it with Aussies since watching the Paul Hogan Show back in the 70s 🙂

        August 30, 2012 at 7:12 am

      • lmao – I have no problem with ‘mate’! In fact I much prefer it to the awful ‘shiela’ that used to be used for women. However please don’t feel you have to be PC with me. 😀

        August 31, 2012 at 3:48 am

      • Okay 🙂 I did read cultural studies so PC is normal for me. My mum’s cousin is called Sheila which kills the name for me – if you met her you’d agree 🙂
        Some people are funny about terms of endearment, but I think folk can be too touchy – it’s not hard to tell if someone’s genuine or not – so whether you use ‘love’ ‘mate’ ‘pal’ or otherwise it’s what else you say that matters.
        I’ve been up most of the night with shoulder pains due to my weird medical condition and can barely see the screen now ’cause my eyes are tired.
        My partner’s gran survived another day so we’ll be going to see her later. What time is it by you?

        August 31, 2012 at 4:02 am

      • It’s just gone 2.15pm here so it’s mid-afternoon. I’m looking out at sunshine while it must be dark over on your side of the world.

        Please convey my sympathies to your partner. I sort of know what this is like as I went through the same thing with my Dad. -hugs- to you both.

        We aussies tend to be fairly reserved when it comes to terms of endearment and shows of affection are usually disguised by ‘G’day ya old bastard!’ followed by a manly slap on the back or shoulder. We ladies go for air kisses. I am however learning to hug people, at least digitally! All thanks to the Buthidars and David Prosser. 😀 [He’s another Pom!]

        I hope you manage to get some sleep and some pain relief soon.

        August 31, 2012 at 4:23 am

      • Cheers mate! I’ve had to content myself with ruining one of my fave poems. Sorry My Coleridge…

        At Tampa Bay the GOP
        Accepted crazy Mitt Romney:
        Then Ryan, his nasty VP man
        Scared oldies with his healthcare plan
        And racists laughed Tee-he!

        So twice ten thousand cops were found
        To beat up locals all around:
        Up jumped the nutters, voices shrill,
        And bayed for blood upon the Hill;
        While cutting budgets for the ill,
        Mid mindless acts of thievery.
        🙂 Speak later x

        August 31, 2012 at 4:26 am

      • lmao – not bad at all Mr. Anarchy!

        August 31, 2012 at 7:13 am

      • Thanks – just got up in a daze 🙂

        August 31, 2012 at 8:11 am

      • Um… maybe you should rest some more then?

        August 31, 2012 at 12:29 pm

      • Will try – I’m going to sit in the steam room at gym for a bit – it seems to help 🙂

        August 31, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      • I wonder if it’s the heat or the steam? Hope you’re feeling better now.

        August 31, 2012 at 11:15 pm

      • Yes thanks – much better today. I think it’s the heat. Thanks for asking

        September 1, 2012 at 4:24 am

      • Ah that’s good!

        September 1, 2012 at 4:43 am

      • Is that like Mr Muscle but for even badder stains and states 🙂

        August 31, 2012 at 8:18 am

      • Most definitely for the states! Not sure how effective you’d be on stains :p

        August 31, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      • Why thank you m’dear – you’ve made an oldish man happy 🙂

        August 31, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      • -grin- this oldish woman is happy to have been of service. 😉

        August 31, 2012 at 11:16 pm

      • 🙂 Age is all relative – when I’m feeling particularly connected I remember all life is one and we’re really billions of years old – other times it’s just my clothes that seem old…

        September 1, 2012 at 4:30 am

      • I like that and shall remember that I’m just a collection of molecules next time I pass the mirror. 😀

        September 1, 2012 at 4:44 am

      • But what a collection of m:)lecules! Physics and mysticism both teach us that our sense of time is highly subjective – life on this planet is an unbroken whole – we just see ourselves as distinct organisms with our limited ego-consciousness. In reality time happens all at once – everything just is – but it’s hard to type and remember that simultaneously…
        So what’s it like by you? Our much-maligned English summer has been anything but this year – one day it feels like Spring the next Autumn appears. Is is still Winter down under?

        September 1, 2012 at 4:58 am

      • I was just chatting about reality on another blog site and you’re right, it is subjective. I wonder if it has anything to do with scale? I mean reality at the molecular level would be quite different to the reality we experience with our macro sense but what if there is something[d] out there that is so big that it is as unaware of us as we are of molecules? And no, I’m not talking of a ‘god’ here. 😉

        Yes I’ve been hearing about the summer that wasn’t. 🙂 We are lurching from winter to spring and back again on a daily basis. We had a bright sunny day today but who knows what it will be like tomorrow. I guess variety is the spice of life… or something.

        September 1, 2012 at 12:10 pm

      • Quite – scale is crucial. The quantum scale world is highly unintuitive to us humans. As to whether there are other ‘things’ at different scales – in an infinite universe, and quite probably an infinite Multiverse – I guess there is or are 🙂
        I’ve had quite a few anomalous experiences myself – you name it and I’ve probably met it…

        September 1, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      • lol – I think I’m too mundane to have any of those. 😉

        September 2, 2012 at 1:24 am

      • You protesteth too much 🙂

        September 2, 2012 at 4:42 pm

      • Methinks not!

        September 2, 2012 at 10:06 pm

      • Okay, perhaps it’s me…

        September 2, 2012 at 10:07 pm

      • I’ve just been reading about Paul Hogan and find he’s a Catholic, US Republican and alleged serious tax-dodger. I’m glad to admit I never saw Crocodile Dundee…

        August 30, 2012 at 7:32 am

      • lmao – I admit I have a soft spot for Crocodile Dundee because it was such a sweet parody of how aussie blokes still like to thnk of themselves. I am saddened to think that Paul Hogan is a republican though. Maybe he’s a rhino or is that rino? Republican In Name Only?

        August 31, 2012 at 3:45 am

      • I loved him in the 70s – the stuff about him being Republican was on Wikipedia – I’ll look a little further

        August 31, 2012 at 3:54 am

      • Despite being a fellow aussie I don’t really know that much about Paul Hogan the man. I know he had an irreverent sense of humour and was very much an aussie ‘bloke’ but that’s about it.

        August 31, 2012 at 4:15 am

Leave a Reply

