Making the Future Female

GOT MY FIRST CHINESE READER!


I’ve been asking bloggers about where their viewers originate  recently and although between us we’ve had folk from most of the world stop by, none had seen anyone from China

“They’re no doubt blocking their citizens…” we mumbled to each other. “Same as with Facebook,” my erudite Pink mate suggested  and I assumed he was right without checking.

But this week I had my first person from the world’s most populous nation come to this blog.

And it set me thinking: who writes about Chinese issues? I certainly haven’t, and to be fair I don’t go to Chinese sites. So why should they come to me? I’ve always followed US people, politics and news because it affects all the world. Well now I’m going to read more and learn more about Chinese culture because pretty soon they’ll be vying with the US for top dog status.

So bloggers, why not consider how to attract folks from other cultures and language groups? English speakers are very fortunate in that much of the world has to learn our native tongue – perhaps we should show more respect to them and write something of interest to other cultures more often 🙂

18 responses

  1. You made me go back through my stats and check if China had been my way too. No luck. I am always excited when an unusual country has a look at my blog (Moldova, Lebanon and Occupied Palestinian Territory!) and I do try to find articles that might interest countries other than the main three that read me (Aus, UK and US) and tag them accordingly.

    September 14, 2012 at 8:50 am

    • Haven’t got Moldova but have been viewed by someone from the Palestinian Territories (Occupied) like you. I had a lot of Danish viewers two days ago but I hadn’t posted anything I could see was relevant 🙂
      My third place is Nederlands then Oz!

      September 14, 2012 at 10:20 am

      • My ego likes it when the Russian Federation looks at my blog. It is such a large chunk of the map it feel like most of the world has looked at you!

        If I notice a country starting to look at my blog I do try to find something that might be of interest to them. After a few Moldovia views I did a post (about man-eating wolves) that mentioned Bessarabia, which is historically connected to Moldova, and I suspect that bought a few more.

        I often wonder if those unusual views are from a native or if it is an expat Aussie. I’d love to know!

        September 14, 2012 at 12:03 pm

  2. It was probably the censor confirming your inappropriateness for the Chinese public 😀

    September 14, 2012 at 10:38 am

    • 🙂 no likey Mester

      September 14, 2012 at 10:48 am

  3. Pingback: GOT MY FIRST CHINESE READER! | Mental Health, Politics and LGBT issues | Scoop.it

  4. That’s a really interesting point. I’ve often thought how we english speakers can be quite arrogant sometimes when in someone elses country, expecting them to know our language.

    September 14, 2012 at 11:22 am

    • Exactly what I realised when I stopped and thought – language chauvinism rules okay!
      If China hadn’t lost control for a couple of centuries who knows what the world’s most popular lingo would be?
      Have you read about the Opium Wars? My guess is that the Chinese still harbour some resentment…

      September 14, 2012 at 11:38 am

  5. Pingback: The Interweb – Couldn’t we be a bit more thoughtful? « MADD Suspicions

  6. I like checking out the location of “hits” far more than the numbers some days! Seeing the countries ad up is too cool for school. The Republic of Korea and Democratic Republic of the Congo were two particular thrills, and like Metan the Russian Federation is always a bit of thrill. I haven’t had China yet, that I recall and given that I have an exchange student son, who just returned to China in June, living there… I keep hoping. :-p

    September 14, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    • Yes, I had a yen for a Japanese reader and made my mark on some Germans, but to be frank I’m happy to connect with everybody 🙂
      Sorry for the awful puns -but just got in from gym and delirious from hunger…

      September 14, 2012 at 3:18 pm

      • Yuk, yuk, yuk.

        September 14, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      • Well my brain was starved of sugar – I’m okay now and won’t pun any more…

        September 14, 2012 at 4:41 pm

  7. narhvalur

    I have had readers from every ??? country in the World, like regulars from Mongolia and Papua New Guinea!! But only 1 from China! I write much about Chinese animal abuse issues and think I’m censored!

    September 14, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    • Hello mate – it’s difficult to know isn’t it – just on the law of averages you’d expect more from a population of 1.3 billion?
      I wonder how many Chinese can speak English? I’ll try and find out and post that number.

      September 15, 2012 at 7:23 am

  8. narhvalur

    PS. However Hong Kong belongs to my top visitors!

    September 14, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    • Again could be about language – I have a few. Wonder what folk from Hong Kong are called? Hong Kongians…
      Research needed 🙂

      September 15, 2012 at 7:24 am

    • Again could be about language – I have a few. Wonder what folk from Hong Kong are called? Hong Kongians…
      Research needed 🙂
      I just looked and Wikipedia says, “Hong Konger”

      September 15, 2012 at 7:26 am

Leave a Reply

